Past Presidents

The first organizational meeting of the British Columbia Association of Broadcasters took place on October 11, 1947. Since that time BCAB Presidents have a set term of two years. Each volunteer President is selected from the Board of Directors with is a representation of the association’s member stations.

The following is the list of the association’s Past-Presidents. The years typically denote the start and end of the term occurring at the BCAB Annual General Meeting held in May of each year.


Current President:
Year Name   Employer
2023-2025 Rob Brimacombe Corus Entertainment
Past Presidents:
Year      Name Employer (during term as President)
2021-2023 Rob Germain CHEK Media, Victoria
2018-2021 Rob Bye Pattison Media Ltd., Nanaimo
2015-2018 Kevin Gemmell Fabmar Communications Ltd., Chilliwack
2013-2015 James Stuart Hewson Bell Media, Vancouver
2011-2013 Ken Kilcullen Pattison Media Ltd., Prince George
2009-2011 Brad Phillips Astral Media, Vancouver
2006-2009 Dan McAllister Pattison Media Ltd., Victoria
2004-2006 Brett Manlove Global Television, Vancouver
2000-2004 Gerry Siemens Pattison Media Ltd., Vancouver
1998-2000 Chris Pandoff Corus Entertainment, Vancouver
1996-1998 Jack Tomik Global Television, Vancouver
1994-1996 Erin Petrie Rogers Radio, Vancouver
1992-1994 Gord Leighton Monarch Broadcasting, Prince George
1990-1992 Bryan Edwards Okanagan Skeena Group, Terrace
1989-1990 Roy Gardner BCTV, Vancouver
1987-1989 Tom Peacock Rogers Radio, Vancouver
1985-1987 Bill Coombes Fraser Valley Broadcasters, Chilliwack
1983-1985 Jamie Browne Okanagan Broadcasters, Kelowna
1981-1983 Hal Davis CKNW Radio, Vancouver
1980-1981 Noel Hullah CHQM Radio, Vancouver
1979-1980 John Skelly NL Radio, Kamloops
1977-1979 Walter Gray CKIQ Radio, Kelowna
1975-1977 John Ansell CJVI Radio, Victoria
1974-1975 Ron East Central Interior Radio
1973-1974 Mel Cooper CFAX Radio, Victoria
1972-1973 Bob Hall CFAX Radio, Victoria
1971-1972 John Dalton “Dalt” Elton CKWX Radio, Vancouver
1970-1971 Dennis Barkman CHWK Radio, Chilliwack
1969-1970 Joe Kobluk CJAT Radio, Trail
1967-1969 Don Hamilton CKLG Radio, Vancouver
1966-1967 William A. “Bill” Speers CKWX Radio, Vancouver
1964-1966 Ray (John Raymond) Peters BCTV, Vancouver
1962-1964 Roy Chapman CKOK Radio, Penticton
1960-1962 Ken Hutcheson CJAV Radio, Port Alberni
1958-1960 Jack Sayers CFUN Radio, Vancouver
1956-1958 Gil Seabrook CJIB Radio, Vernon
1954-1956 Maurice Finnerty CKOK Radio, Penticton
1952-1954 William “Bill” Rea CKNW Radio, Vancouver
1949-1952 Frank “Tiny” Elphicke CKPG Radio, Prince George
1947-1949 George Chandler CJOR Radio, Vancouver