BCAB Elects New Board of Directors and Executive

The British Columbia Association of Broadcasters (BCAB) has announced a new executive and board of directors.

Rob Germain – CHEK Media Group – has been named President for a two-year term.

Rob Bye of Pattison Media, Vancouver Island will serve on the board executive as Past President.

Jasmin Doobay – Program Director at Pattison Media, Prince George – has been named Vice President.

New elected directors are:
Shusma Datt, i.t. Media Broadcasting; and Megan Milne, Vista Radio.

Continuing as directors are:
Devon Tshritter, Stingray Digital Media Group; Rob Brimacombe, Corus Entertainment; Manish Verma, Joy TV; and Dustin Collins, Pattison Media, Vancouver.

Broadcasters across British Columbia have delivered an essential public service throughout the COVID pandemic, providing local programming and information in times of high need – and supporting local businesses despite broadcasters themselves facing challenges of declining revenues and economic uncertainty.

In 2020 the BCAB did not hold its annual conference due to COVID and presented its broadcast awards virtually. The 2021 BCAB Awards will again be presented virtually this October. The board is hopeful the BCAB can hold an in-person conference in the spring of 2022.

About the BCAB:
Since 1947, the BCAB has been the voice for private broadcasters in British Columbia. There are more than 100 television and radio stations from Cranbrook to Port Hardy and Penticton to Prince Rupert. Collectively, local broadcasters directly employ more than 1,100 British Columbians and generate $687 million in economic activity in B.C.